Metatron Prize

for Rising Authors



With Guest Judges:

CAConrad & Anne Boyer




CAConrad is the author of 9 books of poetry and essays. Their latest, While Standing in Line for Death (Wave Books, 2017), won the Lambda Literary Award for Gay Poetry earlier this year. A recipient of a Pew Fellowship in the Arts for Literature, they have also received The Believer Magazine Book Award and The Gil Ott Book Award. They conduct workshops on (Soma)tic poetry and Ecopoetics and is currently working on a (Soma)tic poetry ritual titled, "Resurrect Extinct Vibration," which investigates the effects that vibrational absence of recently extinct species has on the body of the poet and the poems. They teach at the Sandberg Art Institute in Amsterdam.



Anne Boyer

Anne Boyer is an American poet and essayist, and the inaugural winner of the 2018 Cy Twombly Award for Poetry from the Foundation for Contemporary Art and a 2018 Whiting Award in nonfiction/poetry. Boyer is the author of A Handbook of Disappointed Fate, the 2016 CLMP Firecracker award-winning Garments Against Women, My Common Heart, and The Romance of Happy Workers. In 2014, Boyer was diagnosed with highly-aggressive triple negative breast cancer which led to her work on the politics of care in the age of precarity. Boyer is a professor at the Kansas City Art Institute where she teaches writing, literature, and theory in the School of the Liberal Arts.





September 16, 2018



Get your manuscripts ready! Our annual writing prize is offically back and open for submissions! We’re looking for brave, cutting-edge and spirited collections of poetry, fiction, non-fiction and hybrid literature that marches to its own drum for this year's Metatron Prize for Rising Authors. This year, we are ecstatic to announce our Guest Judges are CAConrad and Anne Boyer!






1st place: $500, publishing contract, Metatron book bundle
2nd place: $200, Metatron book bundle

3rd place: Metatron book bundle




The winning manuscript of this year’s Metatron Prize will be awarded $500, a contract to be published with Metatron in 2019, a Metatron book bundle, and book blurbs from our guest judges. We've also added second and third place prizes this year 🙂 In addition, all twelve (12) longlisted pieces will be considered for publication, receive a feature in a special Metatron Prize issue of ÄLPHÄ and author promotion on our social media platforms.


The Metatron Prize was founded in 2015 and has contributed to three fantastic debut collections: number one earth by jasper avery (October 2018), Soft Focus by Sarah Jean Grimm and Pony Castle by Sofia Banzhaf. We’ve also published an array of titles that have come to us as through reading for the prize.


Submissions are open from July 16th, 2018 to September 16th, 2018.






1. SUBMIT YOUR MANUSCRIPT & PAY YOUR READING FEE | All manuscripts and Reading Fees must be submitted and processed via Submittable. Specific details for submissions can be found there.








"as i was writing the poems that would go on to win the Metatron Prize, i was working as an assisstant teacher in a seriously stressful charter school in southern arizona. these poems have travelled from that computer to hot dog magazine in the uk, microchaps in toronto, and screens all over the world, and all of this before the release of number one earth. i am simply bowled over and will be ever-grateful for the recognition, and earnest care that have come to myself and my queer little poems thru the Metatron Prize. this attention and care has allowed me to push my work further and expand the breadth and depth of emotion i am so lucky to feel and make felt as a poet and as a person who cares deeply for others."
—jasper avery, author of number one earth


"My experience with Metatron was warmer and more nurturing than I could’ve possibly imagined it would be, and it ultimately elevated my writing practice as much as it did my spirits. The prize is an invitation to join a vibrantly collaborative orbit, and a promise of thoughtful engagement. It’s a gift of both context and community."
—Sarah Jean Grimm, author of Soft Focus


"The Metatron Prize was instrumental in opening the door to a new community of writers and publishers. I went from never having shared my writing, to being commissioned by magazines and anthologies and being awarded government grants for future writing projects in the span of a year."
—Sofia Banzhaf, author of Pony Castle



If you’d like to donate a submission fee to someone who can’t afford it, please consider purchasing additional Submission Fees and emailing us at to confirm your donation. If you can’t afford the submission fee, please email us and we will gladly connect you with financial assistance.






There will be two (2) rounds of judging, as follows:


Round 1: All entries will be reviewed by a group of judges made up of staff, authors and allies of Metatron Press. Twelve (12) manuscripts will be chosen for our longlist.


Round 2: The longlist will be reviewed by CAConrad, Anne Boyer and Metatron’s managing editor, Ashley Obscura. The panel will choose one manuscript as the winning entry from that group, and the second and third place winners.


The longlist will be announced in January 2019. One winner will be announced in March 2019.






Metatron Press (2014) is a literary publisher based in Montreal, Canada that specialize in publishing edgy, spirited and beautifully-designed books. They publish 6-8 titles per year. Aside from the publishing program, Metatron have organized 50+ unique and dynamic readings and book launches in Montreal, Toronto, New York City and beyond. Their digital publishing program is ÄLPHÄ, a quarterly online magazine. Formerly the ÖMËGÄ blog (2014-2018), ÄLPHÄ features a new guest editor per issue. Metatron also holds an annual writing contest, The Metatron Prize.



Find us on: