Metatron Prize

for Rising Authors

"The Shortlist"





1st place: $500, publishing contract, Metatron book bundle
2nd place: $200, Metatron book bundle

3rd place: Metatron book bundle




The winning manuscript of this year’s Metatron Prize will be awarded $500, a contract to be published with Metatron, a Metatron book bundle, and book blurbs from CAConrad and Anne Boyer, our guest judges for this edition of The Metatron Prize. We've also added second and third place prizes this year 🙂 In addition, all eight (8) finalists (TBA!) will receive a feature on our website throughout the month of February. Until then, scroll down to view our offical (long) Shortlist! We will announce our finalists on February 1, 2019.


The Metatron Prize was founded in 2015 and has contributed to three fantastic debut collections: number one earth by jasper avery, Soft Focus by Sarah Jean Grimm and Pony Castle by Sofia Banzhaf. We’ve also published an array of titles that have come to us as through reading for the prize.





Aeon Ginsberg

Bella Bravo
Public Empathy

Brianna Johnson
Fire Sale

Candice Wuehle

Cassidy Marsh

Dalton Day
Our Immoveable Error

Dessa Bayrock
even the automobile
wrecks gleam with some new
hallucinatory splendour

Gion Davis
Too Much

Gloria Muñoz
Dawn's Early

Hannah Ciordas

Isabel Balee
the spectacle

Ivanna Baranova
confirmation bias

Jackie Mlotek
Greetings from Uncanny Valley

Jakob Maier
Happy Hour in the
Decline of Civilization

Jesse Rice Evans

Kaitlyn Purcell

Kodi Saylor
Many Arms Emanating
From A Central Point

Kyla Jamieson
Body Count

Lena Suksi
What Are You?

Marie Conlan
[neurotic love baby]

Matthew Girolami
Fire Regime

Meagan Masterman
What Dies Inside

Meghann Boltz
True Romance

Rawaan Alkhatib
Empty Quarter

Sydney S. Kim    
Dream Snake

Viola Chen
No Problematics

Zaynab Bourezza
Hello? Broke bitch speaking.




With Guest Judges:

CAConrad & Anne Boyer




CAConrad is the author of 9 books of poetry and essays. Their latest, While Standing in Line for Death (Wave Books, 2017), won the Lambda Literary Award for Gay Poetry earlier this year. A recipient of a Pew Fellowship in the Arts for Literature, they have also received The Believer Magazine Book Award and The Gil Ott Book Award. They conduct workshops on (Soma)tic poetry and Ecopoetics and is currently working on a (Soma)tic poetry ritual titled, "Resurrect Extinct Vibration," which investigates the effects that vibrational absence of recently extinct species has on the body of the poet and the poems. They teach at the Sandberg Art Institute in Amsterdam.





Anne Boyer

Anne Boyer is an American poet and essayist, and the inaugural winner of the 2018 Cy Twombly Award for Poetry from the Foundation for Contemporary Art and a 2018 Whiting Award in nonfiction/poetry. Boyer is the author of A Handbook of Disappointed Fate, the 2016 CLMP Firecracker award-winning Garments Against Women, My Common Heart, and The Romance of Happy Workers. In 2014, Boyer was diagnosed with highly-aggressive triple negative breast cancer which led to her work on the politics of care in the age of precarity. Boyer is a professor at the Kansas City Art Institute where she teaches writing, literature, and theory in the School of the Liberal Arts.







First readers:


A. Light Zachary
Ariana Molly
Ashley Obscura
Marcela Huerta
Pamela Lisa
Sennah Yee
Shazia Hafiz Ramji
Sophie Marisol