Metatron Prize

for Rising Authors





With Guest Judges:

Marlowe Granados & Fariha Roisin



★ 1st place (Fiction): $777, Metatron publishing contract ★

★ 1st place (Poetry): $777, Metatron publishing contract ★

★ 12 finalists (6 Fiction, 6 Poetry): Featured in a Metatron Prize special feature in 2022 ★



Fariha Róisín

Fariha Róisín is an Australian-Canadian writer, editor and multi-disciplinary artist. She is the author of How To Cure A Ghost (Abrams, 2019), Being In Your Body (Abrams, 2019) and Like A Bird (Unnamed Press, 2020). Her first work of non-fiction is forthcoming and entitled Who Is Wellness For? On Radical Wellness (HarperWave, Spring 2022).


She is the founder of Studio Ānanda, a space of cultivation and an archive for radical, anti-colonial wellness. She writes a weekly newsletter here and is also the Deputy Editor of Violet Book.


Studio Anandā



Marlowe Granados

Marlowe Granados is a writer and filmmaker. She co-hosts The Mean Reds, a podcast dedicated to women-led films, and her advice column, "Designs for Living," appears in The Baffler. After spending time in New York and London, Granados currently resides in Toronto.


Her debut novel Happy Hour is a savagely flirty romp through New York City during the sweltering summer of 2013, a How to Marry a Millionaire for the ages. Happy Hour is published in Canada by Flying Books, and forthcoming from Verso Books in September 2021. Happy Hour was shortlisted for the 2021 Amazon Canada First Novel Award. 


The Mean Reds (Podcast)
Designs for Living (Column)




Submissions to the 2021 Metatron Prize for Rising Authors have closed.


Please check back in March 2022 to discover the 12 writers who have made our shortlist!


The Metatron Prize was founded in 2015 as a means to discover and support more rising writers, and has contributed to four fantastic debut collections: ʔbédayine by Kaitlyn Purcell (shortlisted for an Indigenous Voices Award), number one earth by jasper avery, Soft Focus by Sarah Jean Grimm and Pony Castle by Sofia Banzhaf. We have also published a vast array of titles that we have discovered and fallen in love with during the reading for the Prize.




First Readers:

A Light Zachary
Ashley Obscura
Eli Tareq El Bechelany-Lynch
Alex Manley
Shazia Hafiz-Ramji
Ali Pinkey
Brad Casey
Amanda Ghazale Aziz
Ivanna Baranova